VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart Dev/Coding Central: VM1 (old version) => Virtuemart 1.1 Development (Archiv) => Quality & Testing VirtueMart 1.1.x => Topic started by: aravot on September 09, 2007, 04:21:20 am

Title: [TRACKER #1438] - VM 1.1 r928 adding product not working in IE
Post by: aravot on September 09, 2007, 04:21:20 am
Joomla 1.0.12 and Joomla 1.5 r8756
VM 1.1 r928

It could be my computer hence I need some else to try, when trying to add product in IE7 I get following message
Quote
Internet Explorer cannot open the Internet site
http://www.example.com/administrator/index2.php?option=com_virtuemart

Operation aborted
Title: Re: Confirmation needed - VM 1.1 r928 adding product not working in IE
Post by: topai on September 09, 2007, 13:44:36 pm
Hey!

I've got the same message (and problem) with IE 6.0, so it seems to be the same problem as you have in IE70
This is also with the build 928 og VM 1.1 Beta
Title: Re: Confirmation needed - VM 1.1 r928 adding product not working in IE
Post by: macallf on September 09, 2007, 14:25:25 pm
Confirmation of problem.

VM1.1 r928
J! 1.0.12

This is a quote from the extJS team to a similar problem

Quote
The problem is caused by other scripts writing to the document before it is actually ready or inline scripts accessing elements before the document is fully loaded. There are many third party libs that do this so it wouldn't be a big shocker. If you are using scripts which do a bunch of inline stuff or document.write, onload is probably the easiest solution.

Jack Slocum
Ext JS - Core Development Team

I'm no JS programmer, so I can't offer advice on how to cure this. Although I have seen it before on IE7.
Title: Re: [CONFIRMED] - VM 1.1 r928 adding product not working in IE
Post by: aravot on September 09, 2007, 20:02:48 pm
Similar report http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=31440.msg92976#msg92976
Title: Re: [CONFIRMED] - VM 1.1 r928 adding product not working in IE
Post by: aravot on September 13, 2007, 21:38:10 pm
Q&T note; tracker URL -> http://virtuemart.net/index.php?option=com_flyspray&Itemid=83&do=details&task_id=1438&option=com_flyspray&Itemid=83
Title: Re: [TRACKER #1438] - VM 1.1 r928 adding product not working in IE
Post by: Soeren on September 14, 2007, 11:54:51 am
Fixed in SVN rev. 943.
Title: Re: [TRACKER #1438] - VM 1.1 r928 adding product not working in IE
Post by: aravot on September 21, 2007, 21:14:51 pm
Error is back in VM 1.1 r953 in Simple view layout and Joomla 1.5 r8961

Quote
Internet Explorer cannot open the Internet site
http://www.example.com/administrator/index.php?pshop_mode=admin&page=product.product_form@option=com_virtuemart.

Operation aborted.
Title: Re: [TRACKER #1438] - VM 1.1 r928 adding product not working in IE
Post by: aravot on October 07, 2007, 22:51:59 pm
The error still there in Joomla 1.5 r9192 and VM 1.1 r971
Title: Re: [TRACKER #1438] - VM 1.1 r928 adding product not working in IE
Post by: aravot on October 11, 2007, 22:33:17 pm
Internet Explorer 7 (IE7)
Joomla 1.5 r9208 and VM 1.1 r985
Simple Layout view

New error message
Quote
Internet Explorer cannot open the Internet site
http://example.com/administrator/index.php?page=product.product_form&limitstart=0&keyword=&product_id=6&product_parent_id=&no_menu=1&option=com_virtuemart.

Operation aborted
Title: Re: [TRACKER #1438] - VM 1.1 r928 adding product not working in IE
Post by: technofax on October 12, 2007, 16:16:10 pm
Hi,

Did anyone solve this problem. I'm experiencing the same with the newest dutch version of joomla & the newest version of virtuemart, can't find a solution.

hope you can help
Title: Re: [TRACKER #1438] - VM 1.1 r928 adding product not working in IE
Post by: aravot on October 13, 2007, 06:18:47 am
Based on Soeren's response; clear your Browser Cache and report back haven't had time to test it for myself.
Title: on IE 6.5---Could not Add New Product, nor New Category
Post by: DH on October 16, 2007, 12:32:49 pm
Joomla RC3, VM1.1  nightly build 999 (also since 9XX).

After installed "com_virtuemart_1.1.0.zip" ( with sample data installed also) and also "mod_virtuemart_1.1.0.tar.gz", I tried to add a new product by clicking on "Add Product"  is pop up the notice like
Quote
Internet Explorer could not open the website http://127.0.0.1/joomla/administrator/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&vmLayout=extended
Operation terminated

The same problem occur while I try to "Add Category". What a mess!

But it's OK in FIREFOX 2.0.0.x

Any one else who meet the same situation?
Title: Re: on IE 6.5---Could not Add New Product, nor New Category
Post by: jongeren on October 18, 2007, 21:15:54 pm
I have the same problem. Is there anyone who have a solution?
Title: Re: on IE 6.5---Could not Add New Product, nor New Category
Post by: jenkinhill on October 22, 2007, 18:25:12 pm
I am unable to duplicate this using IE6SP1 and IE7

Database Version: 4.1.22
PHP Version: 4.4.4
Web Server: Apache
VirtueMart 1.1: Ver. 1002  17th October
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.5 Beta3+ Rev 9251 18th October
Title: Re: [TRACKER #1438] - VM 1.1 r928 adding product not working in IE
Post by: nullbarriere on October 26, 2007, 17:16:08 pm
I had the problem (german:Die Internetseite ... konnte nicht ... Vorgang abgebrochen) with IE 7 on Vista, Joomla 1.5, editing a product category.

Went into the problem until strange behavior was confirmed:
Delete mootool.js call - problem is gone (which is no solution tho)
Inserted an alert(hallo) into the joomla template, then into virtuemart template, then in virtuemart header.php, directly before the menu is drawn. strange behavior: if one waits, say, 3 seconds befor hitting OK on the alert, the page loads fine!

Solution: insert a defer attribute in the script-tag where the menu is drawn (third-to-last line in header.php)like this:
Code: [Select]
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript" defer="defer">
This should solve it one for all, even for adding products.

I will put this in the tracker as well, to speed things up.

[Edit time=few minutes later]
Well, didnt work for adding products. So i kept digging...and found this http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927917/en-us (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927917/en-us). Please see the section APPLIES TO...M$ couldnt fix this for ages.

Now the solution: We have to move the menu drawing line to the very bottom of aour component, keeping the defer attribute. I did this by moving (cut&paste) the 3 script lines to the bottom of admin.virtuemart.php.

At least now working: Edit product category and Add product

G'night.