VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 => Virtuemart Development and bug reports => Topic started by: marvays on May 13, 2021, 08:48:21 am

Title: Quotation mark problem
Post by: marvays on May 13, 2021, 08:48:21 am
Hello. I have an e-shop with bows, crossbows and arrows. In the product name I have the length of the bow in inches. However, Virtuemart cannot display quotation marks well. Replaces & quot;

Example: Lazecký OLIVER Z dětský luk 52"

Breadcrumbs: www.lukysipy.cz  - Luky  - Dětské luky  - Lazecký OLIVER Z dětský luk 52"

<title>Lazecký OLIVER Z dětský luk 52&quot; - Lazecký &amp; Měch</title>

This error is then taken over by search engines, xml feed and the like. Where can the problem be?
live link to product (https://www.lukysipy.cz/lazecky-oliver-z-detsky-luk-52)
Title: Re: Quotation mark problem
Post by: pinochico on May 13, 2021, 16:07:04 pm
We use on www.kolo-park.cz:

size of cycle.

Is not quot, but other chars.

Xml feed function well.
Title: Re: Quotation mark problem
Post by: sirius on May 13, 2021, 16:22:01 pm
Hi
Did you try
Code: [Select]
&Prime; that become ″ ?
Double prime is normally what everybody should use instead of double quote to tell about inches.
Title: Re: Quotation mark problem
Post by: marvays on May 13, 2021, 17:11:14 pm
Is not quot, but other chars.
https://www.compart.com/en/unicode/U+201D ?
Title: Re: Quotation mark problem
Post by: pinochico on May 13, 2021, 17:14:15 pm
Quote
Double prime is normally what everybody should use instead of double quote to tell about inches.

Yes, Therefore, in easyfeeder there is a php function str_replace
Title: Re: Quotation mark problem
Post by: marvays on May 13, 2021, 17:16:44 pm
Hi
Did you try
Code: [Select]
&Prime; that become ″ ?
Double prime is normally what everybody should use instead of double quote to tell about inches.
Code: [Select]
&Prime; is good idea. It is a regular mark for the thumbs. But it also doesn't work.

But. . . i did some tests and it looks like a JoomSEF problem. Not VM. I'll write later when I work it out.
Title: Re: Quotation mark problem
Post by: arcturus on May 20, 2021, 18:58:44 pm
You could use double apostrophe '' instead of quote ".