VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 => Product creation => Topic started by: Stefan Korth on January 04, 2019, 09:27:34 am

Title: Bug at category creation: category not found
Post by: Stefan Korth on January 04, 2019, 09:27:34 am
hey. Did I miss something? I have the latest version of VM (3.4.3) and Joomla. I try to add a new sub category to a category. It shows up both in backend and front end, but even though I assigned products, I get an error message when clicking the sub category. I have done this so many times before, and have plenty of sub cagegories, did something change with the lastest versions which I have missed?

Also I noticed that per default the list limit number is set to 0. Has anybody an Idea what is wrong?

shop is live at www.customdrums.de (http://www.customdrums.de) and the category in question is drumsticks / adoro silent sticks etc.


Edit: now I tried to add a new categoy, and it would also not work. So it seems no matter what I do, I cannot add new categories, nor sub categories.

I work with VM for ten years now, but it never ceases to surprise me.

you could replace "surprise" with "piss me off"....
Title: Re: category creation: category not found
Post by: Stefan Korth on January 04, 2019, 10:45:04 am
...so can somebody walk me through how to create a category? My VM seems to mess it up. I have categories, and they are displayed, but I cannot add new ones. And I noticed some odd behavior, settings that once were set to default are not anymore, etc. So there seems to be an issue. Is it just me?
Title: Re: Bug at category creation: category not found
Post by: Stefan Korth on January 04, 2019, 14:34:12 pm
it seems like VM is not giving out the right ID, it is cloning the IDs from other categories. The only way to create a category that works is to rename one that has been created before, and which is not being used right now. All new created categories get a 404. Am I the only one with this issue?
Title: Re: Bug at category creation: category not found
Post by: GJC Web Design on January 04, 2019, 15:55:40 pm
seems so .. try VM3.4.2 as only even numbered releases are considered stable
Title: Re: Bug at category creation: category not found
Post by: Stefan Korth on January 04, 2019, 18:39:13 pm
how do I install an older VM Version? Can I just install it over the new one? I just installed the latest because I had a bug that caused that no emails got sent when customer purchased something. Which is a bit more anoying than having issues with categories...
Title: Re: Bug at category creation: category not found
Post by: Stefan Korth on January 04, 2019, 18:56:50 pm
https://www.customdrums.de/de/shop/test

have set up a test category in my live system. I downgraded VM, orders still work, I checked. But categories don't. I installed the 3.4.2 as suggested....  what should I look for as for trouble shooting?

(of course I created the category AFTER installing the older version of VM)
Title: Re: Bug at category creation: category not found
Post by: GJC Web Design on January 04, 2019, 19:10:14 pm
you need to provide far more precise info .. I just tried your test site .. all seems to work..

exact urls to what you say the problem is..

do u have a root cat menu to VM? You must..  hidden or otherwise - is it https://www.customdrums.de/de/shop/?

why is Falang being used? It is certainly not necessary for J3/VM3..    have u translated all cats and products in VM and have the correct lang setup etc?
Title: Re: Bug at category creation: category not found
Post by: Stefan Korth on January 05, 2019, 11:31:01 am
did you test to click on the "test" category? Did that work too?

Falang: i tried to use it, but so far it is not being used anywhere, I simply have no idea how to get it out of the system, nor did I think it is an issue.
Title: Re: Bug at category creation: category not found
Post by: Stefan Korth on January 05, 2019, 11:38:03 am
ave u translated all cats and products in VM and have the correct lang setup etc?

oh certainly that is the issue. Now it works fine. When creating a category, it seems that joomla is not using the description as default for all languages until I set up the translations - in my case not even necessary, as the terms are the same in english as in german. Still, as long as english has not been entered, the site will not work, the category will not show up.

definitely a bug. Please, if you read this, Max, why would VM not use the default language instead? It took me three days to figure this out, when Gerd mentioned translation, I remembered. But that makes no sense at all. A computer should make things easier, and this would be an easy feature to make things easy too. Either make the translation pop up when saving, as when entering an address and forgetting the zip code, or fill the blanks with default language. why do I set up a default language at all?
Title: Re: Bug at category creation: category not found
Post by: GJC Web Design on January 05, 2019, 15:00:54 pm
It depends HOW you did your initial install..

If the VM site default is en_gb then this is your fallback which must always be filled.
If u change to VM de_de then later it has no fallbacks.. so in this case u need to fill de_de
you can set specific fallbacks as well .. the VM lang system is light years in front of Joomla's IF you read the setup instructions etc

https://docs.virtuemart.net/manual/general-concepts/214-multilanguage-and-multlingual.html