VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 => Plugins: Payment, Shipment and others => Topic started by: dimi2013 on December 14, 2018, 16:53:24 pm

Title: No Recaptcha V3
Post by: dimi2013 on December 14, 2018, 16:53:24 pm
VM Version: 3.4.2
Joomla Version: 3.9.1
PHP Version: 7.2.13


Several years ago, I posted a question, http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=127583.msg437441#msg437441 (http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=127583.msg437441#msg437441) about Recaptcha V3 but it hadn't been implemented yet in VM.
I've tried enabling it on my site now but it works everywhere except VM.

Has anyone tried enabling it on their site? If so, what has your experience been? Just curious. Thanks.
Title: Re: No Recaptcha V3
Post by: jenkinhill on December 19, 2018, 13:05:07 pm
You mean invisble recaptcha?  See http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=140813

I use it on other Joomla sites, but not VM
Title: Re: No Recaptcha V3
Post by: dimi2013 on December 22, 2018, 21:01:19 pm
Thanks for the reply, Kelvyn. Google's calling invisible recaptcha, v3. But anyway, I noticed that, like you, it works on Joomla but not on VM. That's OK..it'll probably happen somewhere down the line.
Title: Re: No Recaptcha V3
Post by: gba on October 03, 2019, 17:24:10 pm
Hi!

Actually Joomla has this invisible reCaptcha V3 plugin, dated to November 2017.
And you can set this plugin as default captcha plugin in Joomla config.
But VM 3.6.1 seems to ignore this config setting and is just using the reCaptcha V2 plugin.
I am wondering, if there are any plans to enable VM using the Joomla default capture plugin, enabling also Google reCaptcha V3?

Kind regards,
Gerald
Title: Re: No Recaptcha V3
Post by: jjk on October 04, 2019, 17:13:12 pm
And you can set this plugin as default captcha plugin in Joomla config.
But VM 3.6.1 seems to ignore this config setting and is just using the reCaptcha V2 plugin.

I'm not sure, because I don't use Google's annoying and tracking captchas for my shop. There are well working, less annoying alternatives available in the JED.

My understanding is that the reCaptcha V3 is pure javascript which gives a score between 0 and 1 as output, which then can be used to trigger for example a two-factor authentication or a reCaptcha V2 if the score is low. The problem with such scores is that they will identify some bots as human and some humans as bots.