VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 => Administration & Configuration => Topic started by: 11@safetybanners.org on April 08, 2017, 20:20:15 pm

Title: Server Root access required?
Post by: 11@safetybanners.org on April 08, 2017, 20:20:15 pm
My developer says I need server root access to properly use VirtueMart. I find that hard to believe. is he correct? I am in the USA.
Title: Re: Server Root access required?
Post by: jenkinhill on April 08, 2017, 23:55:47 pm
You just need access to the public_html or whatever the equivalent is on your server. But with misinformation like that you should now move to a proper host and install Joomla. Then if you wish you can install VirtueMart.

Title: Re: Server Root access required?
Post by: 11@safetybanners.org on April 09, 2017, 00:10:14 am
Thank you for your help. I appreciate it very much. I thought as much. I have a Joomla / VitureMart site. Unfortunately, my original developer went out of business so I found a new Joomla/VirtueMart developer and moved to 1&1 hosting. Not me :-), they did it. I have a problem where we cannot save as PDF the order Delivery note and Document forms. some sort of ssl error. The created a work around where they show up in the browser, but the red +'s do not go away when we open them like it used to. They sat they need server root access to fix the problem.

Thank you again for your help and have a GREAT day.
Title: Re: Server Root access required?
Post by: GJC Web Design on April 09, 2017, 11:38:05 am
I have worked with clients who host with 1&1 and afraid I am not impressed.. typical large don't care host..

Without the exact error not much more can be said -- you NEVER need "root" access to run J/VM.. there might be some settings required at root level but any decent host would know and fix your problem

Cut your losses and move to e.g. Siteground
Title: Re: Server Root access required?
Post by: jenkinhill on April 09, 2017, 15:05:24 pm
You mentioned "some sort of ssl error. "  Is the site running SSL under SSL with an appropriate security certificate in place? Or maybe your "developer" is talking about setting the VM safe path to a directory below Joomla root. This is advised, but not essential to use the site.
Title: Re: Server Root access required?
Post by: 11@safetybanners.org on April 11, 2017, 14:38:42 pm
 I do have an EV SSL installed but I am not sure what you are saying. They just tell me to fix the printing +/- problem they need root access in VM. The also recommend I move to OVH but that will cost me $1,000 for the move. I am not sure it is worth it as I am running fast and fine on 1&1 servers. Do you have any experience with OVH? I do appreciate your help and thank you very much.
Title: Re: Server Root access required?
Post by: jenkinhill on April 11, 2017, 15:17:46 pm
OK so they were not talking about the certificate but server limitation. There wish to access server root sounds like a spurious excuse for not being able to do something.

I have no experience of OVH (they are French) but I use cloud VPS with United Hosting (in UK and USA) for all my sites and am more than happy with speed and flexibility.
Title: Re: Server Root access required?
Post by: 11@safetybanners.org on April 11, 2017, 16:29:05 pm
I'm still getting the hang of this forum thing but I REALLY appreciate your help. I agree. I thought they were J/VM experts but perhaps not so much. My original developer is on his last legs so I had no choice but to change developers and move to a new host. I am happy with the site, and frankly 1&1, I just need a few tweaks in the cart here and there as my customers are all US vs. European. Do you ever do contract advising or programming work? (Even though we left your Empire a few hundred years ago :-)
Thanks. Bob.