VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 => General Questions => Topic started by: kiscompany on June 30, 2015, 00:08:51 am

Title: Tool tip doesn't work
Post by: kiscompany on June 30, 2015, 00:08:51 am
Hello,

I am running Virtuemart 3.08

I have a registration form here

http://www.chinomayorista.com.ar/registro-tienda

I need a blue icon with a tooltip at the right hand side of some fields. I tried to add the tooltip text in the Shopper Field Details (Description, field-tip ) but it doesn't show nothing in the frontend.

What I am doing wrong?

Thank you in advance
Title: Re: Tool tip doesn't work
Post by: Spyros Petrakis on June 30, 2015, 11:21:21 am
Hi,

you will need to modify the edit_address_userfields.php in the user view folder in your existing template overrides or create a template override.

open the file and find:
Code: [Select]
<?php echo $field['formcode'?>


right after it insert the following

Code: [Select]
<?php if (!empty($field['description'])) {
  echo 
JHtml::tooltip (strip_tags($field['description']), '''tooltip.png');
?>

Title: Re: Tool tip doesn't work
Post by: kiscompany on June 30, 2015, 13:48:46 pm
Works perfectly well! Thank you so much!
Title: Re: Tool tip doesn't work
Post by: Mentalhacker on March 21, 2017, 00:08:31 am
you will need to modify the edit_address_userfields.php in the user view folder in your existing template overrides or create a template override.

What the "hack" is this?
It's fantastic, and thank you so much. I'm glad that I have found the solution, but excuse me, shouldn't it be part of the VM core? Tooltips may be very important parts of a website or webshop, and the tooltip options are there in the backend. Is there any explanation?
Thanks anyway.
Title: Re: Tool tip doesn't work
Post by: Milbo on March 21, 2017, 10:21:16 am
the post is from June 30, 2015

I think it is already added, you may test yourself first.
Title: Re: Tool tip doesn't work
Post by: Mentalhacker on April 04, 2017, 17:16:18 pm
the post is from June 30, 2015

I think it is already added, you may test yourself first.
Yes, it's an old post, but when I checked the file, the tooltip part was not there, and I had the same problem as the writer's of the first post. I inserted the code snippet, and the tooltips were displayed immediately.
I use Joomla 3.6.5 and VM 3.0.18, consequently the tooltip code is not part of the VM core, and the update files of the previous versions don't contain it.
I'm currently testing VM 3.2.1 on a test site, but I haven't checked this file.
(I have a big question concerning the new shopfunctionsf.php file, but that's offtopic, I'm going to open another topic.)