VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 => Virtuemart Development and bug reports => Development & Testing => Topic started by: wlaagewaard on September 23, 2014, 17:02:42 pm

Title: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: wlaagewaard on September 23, 2014, 17:02:42 pm
Hi i have version 2.9.9 and i dont have any options to set in my stockable values. what is changed

(http://jdsboutique.divers-it.nl/sv.jpg)

i want to add the stock for sizes. but i cant see any options
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: GJC Web Design on September 23, 2014, 18:09:40 pm
Stockable variants aren't used in VM3

there is a new handling for this - easiest is install the example data and you can see all the various examples now possible
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Milbo on September 23, 2014, 20:54:11 pm
Use the new "Child Variants" option! I need here more input. Please download the new 2.9.9c  http://dev.virtuemart.net/attachments/download/800/com_virtuemart.2.9.9c_extract_first.zip
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: wlaagewaard on September 24, 2014, 21:12:55 pm
Hello Milbo,

thanks for your answer. But i am bit lost in understanding this flow.

What my goal is that i want to reach is the following. I have a product in 2 sizes S and L. For Size S i have 10 in stock and L i have 1.

Based on the stock i want to show the custom fields S and M.

So i tried to create a parent with 2 children. BTW in this version i dont see which children i have on the parent product.

I created a demo environment and i installed the sample data. but i couldnt figure out how it was configured.

If you want we can skype: Diversity-International
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: wlaagewaard on September 24, 2014, 22:21:17 pm
Can you also elaborate the override checkbox.

And i also set the parameter  Do not Display Product, if child products also out of stock.

but it was no use
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Geppux on December 03, 2014, 18:07:23 pm
Use the new "Child Variants" option! I need here more input. Please download the new 2.9.9c  http://dev.virtuemart.net/attachments/download/800/com_virtuemart.2.9.9c_extract_first.zip

Sorry Milbo, I'm testing VM3 with J2.5.27, could you tell me where I can see the usage of the custom field type "Child Variant" (not the "Generic Child Variant")? there is any tutorial or example to understand it?
I made a test installation with the demo data but I still didn't understood how it works, thank you.
Giuseppe
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Geppux on December 03, 2014, 19:38:09 pm
I noticed that with more than 2 Child products the custom field don't work, I'm surely doing something wrong...
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Geppux on December 06, 2014, 10:12:34 am
I understood that it's not working because if I have 3 variants with 3 values I must have 9 child products, but I noticed that in the assignments of the different values of the variants , in addition to the child products there is also the parent, that I don't want to be sold, how can avoid it? I don't find an option "parent not for sale" like in the Generic Child Variant.

Can someone help me? thank you.

Giuseppe
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Geppux on December 11, 2014, 23:02:24 pm
ok, nobody can help me!!!  :(
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Milbo on December 12, 2014, 22:53:38 pm
I am sorry, I need definitly to write a small tutorial. Or I explain it via skype against a tutorial ?
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Geppux on December 13, 2014, 09:45:25 am
Well... a tutorial should be GREAT!!!

I installed the example data and I understood some things but the Child Varian is not used in the example, only the generic child variant
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: joseph_2 on December 13, 2014, 13:09:34 pm
a small tutorial regarding the child variants would be fine, we wait patiently
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: joseph_2 on December 13, 2014, 17:42:17 pm
I installed the sample data of Virtuemart, that explains a lot
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: AnSit on January 16, 2015, 00:16:11 am
First of all I want to thank you for your work and for the new version of the VM!

1. Now testing a custom field children variant. I would like to know something I do not do so, or it is a bug.

When choosing a a child product category page, product tried to change, but it remains the parent product. The card product changes all right. Tell me, please, what's the problem?

Version VM 3.0.3.

2. Also in the parameters of the field parameter value is not clear and there is no reason translation:
COM_VIRTUEMART_CUSTOM_PARAM_SELECTOPTIONS
COM_VIRTUEMART_CUSTOM_PARAM_CLABELS
COM_VIRTUEMART_CUSTOM_PARAM_OPTIONS

3. Earlier price using field Stoсkаblу variant formed based on the price of the parent product. How to generate the same principle, using field Children variant?
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: AnSit on January 16, 2015, 18:15:01 pm
It turns out, and you have a website field Сhildren variant not fully displayed and is not working.  :-\
http://demo.virtuemart.net/default-products
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: AnSit on January 19, 2015, 12:33:02 pm
Ahhh ... anyone say anything?
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: GJC Web Design on January 19, 2015, 13:18:31 pm
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=127500.msg437325#msg437325
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: AnSit on January 19, 2015, 14:49:30 pm
Thank You! But there is a question of some new plug-in. And I'm interested in the basic functionality of the VM and why it does not work and when will work?
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Milbo on January 22, 2015, 13:30:57 pm
In vm3, just use the child variants
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: AnSit on January 22, 2015, 14:02:22 pm
Milbo, so I use it as you recommended. But he'm not even working on your demo. Read the above with some errors I encountered.
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: AnSit on January 29, 2015, 18:00:22 pm
In version 3.0.4 are the same problems described above ...  :(
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Topknotch on February 16, 2015, 11:08:26 am
I have transferred from virtuemart 1.19 to virtuemart 3.0.4, custom fields were used in 1.19 and 2 , yet you now say they are not used? I have over 3k products all using custom fields, so you are now saying they need to be child variants? how am I am going to do that without going into each product and manually changing them to stock variants, that will take me weeks.
I Hope there is an easy solution for this.
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Milbo on February 16, 2015, 13:33:47 pm
AS, the new version 3.0.6 should have all needed fixes. Please try here http://demo.virtuemart.net/default-products/vm-t-shirt-multi-child-detail
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Milbo on February 16, 2015, 13:36:48 pm
I have transferred from virtuemart 1.19 to virtuemart 3.0.4, custom fields were used in 1.19 and 2 , yet you now say they are not used? I have over 3k products all using custom fields, so you are now saying they need to be child variants? how am I am going to do that without going into each product and manually changing them to stock variants, that will take me weeks.
I Hope there is an easy solution for this.

There seems to be some confusion. Vm3 has of course customfields. They are just a bit different organised (more intuitiv, more consinstent logic). The vm3 updater takes care of your customfields in vm2 format and updates all of them automatically, except the stockable plugin.

We just miss a tool to update the stockable plugin automatically to use the new "child variants", btw I think about to call it multivariants.
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Topknotch on February 16, 2015, 15:21:59 pm
thanks for the heads up, however when will 3.0.6 be available ?
to slightly change the subject if it is not going to be available for a while how would I go about reverting back to 2.5 and keeping everything intact, ie categories,products etc etc ?
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: AnSit on February 16, 2015, 15:23:16 pm
Milbo, very grateful to you for not forgetting about me!
It is very important to "Child variant" worked for the category page:
http://demo.virtuemart.net/default-products
And it still does not work there. If you change the settings, the price does not change.   :(

Or do you have on the site is not already installed 3.0.6?
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Milbo on February 16, 2015, 17:14:03 pm
Please try this product http://demo.virtuemart.net/default-products/vm-t-shirt-multi-child-10-detail
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Topknotch on February 17, 2015, 12:01:08 pm
hi could you please tell me when this will be available ? as currently I cannot do it like the demo
thanks
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: GJC Web Design on February 17, 2015, 12:46:43 pm
should be very soon, 3.0.6 is in final testing
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: kayleigh on February 19, 2015, 15:36:14 pm
Hi,

I don't have the VM Stockable variants in the list of plug-ins. Can i download it any ware? I am using VM version 3.0.4. Can you guys help me whit the problem?
The child products shows in cart but not like needs to show. They are overwritting the products in the cart. So need to be: T-shirt €2,- size: xl +€2,- Total: €4,- But now if you chose S,M, l, you dont see the product any more.

Help me please!

greats
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Topknotch on February 19, 2015, 15:40:54 pm
Stockable variants plugins are not used in Vm 3.0.4 it is going to replaced by - http://demo.virtuemart.net/default-products/vm-t-shirt-multi-child-10-detail which is going to be released in 3.0.6 whenever that is, I am currently waiting for it as well as I need stockable variants the same as you.
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: spi7fire on February 19, 2015, 15:50:27 pm
we all do and its pretty urgent, i can't go live until this feature will be fixed...  anyone knows when does 3.0.6 is about to be released? is there a specific date? so we could at least prepare to
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: jenkinhill on February 19, 2015, 15:51:13 pm
You can get it from SVN right now. And it would be even quicker if more volunteered to do testing & debugging.
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: spi7fire on February 19, 2015, 16:05:45 pm
Great idea, didn't think i can get it.. i will take it and test it
Thanks
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Topknotch on February 19, 2015, 17:54:44 pm
SVN ? do you mean here - http://docs.virtuemart.net/tutorials/development/100-svn-download.html
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: spi7fire on February 19, 2015, 18:23:08 pm
+1 to Topknotch
I cannot find 3.0.6 on https://dev.virtuemart.net/svn
jenkinhill, where can i download it from?
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: jenkinhill on February 19, 2015, 18:36:32 pm
Read http://docs.virtuemart.net/tutorials/development/100-svn-download.html  for use of SVN. There have been 4 SVN code updates so far today, it is very near to release now.

Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Topknotch on February 19, 2015, 20:19:27 pm
You can get it from SVN right now. And it would be even quicker if more volunteered to do testing & debugging.
Thanks for the heads up Jenkinhill but as I am sure you have read from this currently long thread that people are just frustrated as they have upgraded to the new stable virtuemart 3.0.4 and yet it misses one major part of ANY e-commerce site.
Your suggestion of downloading a test version isn't really a great idea is it ? As if people like me who are trying to launch a new website and have worked weeks creating templates etc then discover they cannot even give products stockable attributes and have to wait for a new version OR try a test version and then will have to install the final version again. Is not really right is it ?
I have followed virtuemart since the beginning, I have installed it on many many sites, I have asked for support on here( as you can see) I have often found the support to be good and sometimes rude. But hey its FREE software. BUT if you put free software out there and ADVISE people to upgrade then please please make sure such basic things like stockable attributes are working as it just makes virtuemart abit of a joke.
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: jenkinhill on February 19, 2015, 23:57:55 pm
I have had no problems at all with stock and VM3 so far, and for those who want extended muti-variant product handling  VM3.0.6 is available frmm http://dev.virtuemart.net/projects/virtuemart/files
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: AnSit on February 28, 2015, 00:16:55 am
Please try this product http://demo.virtuemart.net/default-products/vm-t-shirt-multi-child-10-detail

When selecting parameters are sending to the page product. But price is changed on the category page. And this is necessary!
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Geppux on February 28, 2015, 17:19:54 pm
I'm really getting crazy about this Custom Field  :o  ;D I'm using VM 3.0.6 and J 3.4.0
In your demo page it behaves exactly as I would like. I tried to replicate on my site, to me it seems like the demo but... is not working!  :'(
In the demo, if you change the custom label the others are set  consequently, I mean, if you choose size XL in the colour field you have only green red and blue because the yellow one doesn't exists, this doesn't happens on my product page http://www.golfameno.it/mulligan/index.php/attrezzatura-da-golf/set-di-ferri/taylor-made-rsi-1-detail
The only difference I found from demo settings and mine is that in the custom field type, I don't have Multi Variant but is written COM_VIRTUEMART_MULTIVARIANT
Can someone explain me what I'm mistaking? thank you, bye.
Giuseppe
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: unai on February 28, 2015, 23:03:42 pm
Hi, I can not get the multivariant look like in the demo. in the demo, when you select a color, the shirt is changed to the selected color. and when you select a size and a color in the order form is what you have selected, but I just I get the parent product.
anyone know how this is solved?
for the rest, the update works great. Good job!
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Geppux on March 02, 2015, 18:28:10 pm
Here are my settings, they don't seem different from the demo but don't works.
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: zuotoski on March 04, 2015, 19:10:49 pm
Hi! :) +1 for the thanks to the developers, but also +1 for the ones who are having a hard time to accomplish the multivariable thing.

A tutorial would be great! It would solve most of the problems.

I don't mean to be rude, but if I have to install an entire environment just to see how a function works, it's like to use a truck to carry a feather (too much for too little).

I convinced my client to use Virtuemart because it is reliable and the support is consistent, but in the last few weeks/months my client has been putting some pressure on me because we can not put the store online, due the lack of basic functionalities.  I had to buy a plugin to make fields mandatory, and it was a feature in the old VM - now I am trying to make use of the stockbale variants, with no success. Also, can not find a way to prevent the shopper to exceed the stock products when adding it to the cart - the only way that almost worked was when I set the option to "do not diplay product" when out of stock, but then the product disappears from the cart when the shopper adds more than what's in stock.

Those are things that really frustrates - Kudos for the many great things that are working in VM 3, honestly. I understand the demanding that you developers soffer and also that this is a FREE product, but my client doesn't and what I've promissed (based on the older version) is not happening now.

Please, any help would be much, much appreciated.
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Milbo on March 09, 2015, 10:45:41 am
I had to buy a plugin to make fields mandatory, and it was a feature in the old VM

I am sorry, but I hope you are joking. It really helps to read the manual provided in VM on almost ANY view! click on the lifesaver icon, upper right corner, or read here http://docs.virtuemart.net/manual/configuration-menu/edit-shopper-field.html.
Yes it has not a lot content. But to set it required is, ... just a radiobox with the topic "required". There are also tooltips available.

- now I am trying to make use of the stockbale variants, with no success. Also, can not find a way to prevent the shopper to exceed the stock products when adding it to the cart
Please use vm3 without the stockable variant. A big part of the manual are the sample products. The multivariant will be extended. If you want to push, I suggest to buy membership http://extensions.virtuemart.net/support/virtuemart-supporter-membership-detail


Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Geppux on March 09, 2015, 15:16:34 pm
Milbo, do you have any suggestion to understand why it's not working to me? thank you.
Giuseppe
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Milbo on March 09, 2015, 15:34:16 pm
You have some lines, which are like copies of another. Create a proper matrix and it should work.
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Geppux on March 09, 2015, 20:58:27 pm
Thank you Milbo for the answer, but I'm not sure to understand... do you mean that there are line that are the same here?:
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Geppux on March 09, 2015, 21:00:09 pm
If you download it you can see that there are not lines that are the same, but may be I didn't understood what do you mean... thank you.

Giuseppe
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Geppux on March 11, 2015, 15:06:44 pm
I noticed that if I change the template to the standard beez3 the multivariant works!!! Now I'll ask help where I get the template I'm using.
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Geppux on March 21, 2015, 19:28:47 pm
Hi Milbo, is it possibile to have, in the product page, the name of le label of every ramification? size, color... I don't find a way.
Thank you.
Giuseppe
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: stawebnice on May 01, 2015, 21:26:27 pm
Hi,
I have migrated eshop from VM2.6.6 with stockable custom fields to VM 3.0.8, but the settings of the custom fields was not migrated completely:

This is an example of original customfield:
http://imtp.me/9g4i02lj3.p
the same field in the new eshop looks like this:
http://imtp.me/9g4k02lj3.p

OK, I read here that  there is some new system in VM3 that does not use stockable custom fields, but what shall I do with  it now that I have the data migrated using Daycounts VM migrator and it inserted just the same data into the custom field settings and even though I can see the child products, I cannot see their options:
http://imtp.me/9g4o02lj3.p  is it supposed to look like this?
namely this product should be using this customfield I used as an example above, so I should be able to add color and size for each child product...is there a way to get these values to VM3.0.8

even if I give up on the option to have stocks in custom fields and will enter them in child products, how can I get the stockable options to the child products now, please?

in database the old and new eshop the customfield has the same contents in custom_params field:
selectname1="Barva"|selectname2="Velikost"|selectname3=""|selectname4=""|selectoptions1="amber\r\nanthracite\r\nantilope\r\nash\r\nazure\r\nbeige\r\nblack\r\nblack-red\r\nblue sky\r\nblue\r\nblu\r\nblueberry\r\nbluette\r\nbordeaux\r\nbrown\r\nburgundy\r\nbutilla\r\ncacao 06\r\ncapuccino\r\ncaramel\r\ncastoro\r\ncobalt\r\ncoral\r\ncypria\r\ndaisy\r\ndaino\r\ndark green\r\ndark lilac\r\ndove\r\ndusty green\r\ndusty rose\r\necri\r\nfuchsia\r\nglace\r\ngleis\r\ngraphite\r\ngreen\r\ngreen pea\r\ngrey\r\nchocolate\r\njade\r\njeans\r\nlaguna\r\nlavenda\r\nlight grey\r\nlight lilac\r\nlight natural\r\nlion\r\nlilac\r\nlinen\r\nmilitary\r\nmint\r\nmake up\r\nmake up-black\r\nmake up-white\r\nmocca\r\nmoro\r\nnatural\r\nnavy blue\r\nnew azure\r\nnight blue\r\nnuciola\r\nolive\r\norange\r\npapaya\r\npastel blue\r\npastel pink\r\npeach\r\npeltro\r\nperle\r\npink\r\npistachio\r\nplum\r\nplum peach\r\nraspberry\r\nred\r\nrose\r\nroyal blue\r\nruby\r\nrusset\r\nsabia\r\nsafari\r\nsahara\r\nsand\r\nsea green\r\nsilver\r\nsmoky\r\nsteel\r\ntan\r\nteint\r\nturkus\r\nvanilla\r\nviolet\r\nwhite\r\nyellow\r\n\u010dern\u00e1\r\nn\u00e1mo\u0159nick\u00e1 mod\u0159\r\nsyt\u011b r\u016f\u017eov\u00e1\r\nsv\u011btle r\u016f\u017eov\u00e1\r\n\u0161vestkov\u00e1\r\nb\u00edl\u00e1\r\nacquazzone\r\nanemone\r\nantracite\r\narancio nuovo\r\navana\r\nbianco\r\nbig bubble\r\nblue\r\ncaco\r\ncafe\r\ncaffe\r\ncypria\r\nfumo\r\nfume\r\nfuxia\r\nfrancia\r\ngiallo\r\ngleis\r\nglicine\r\ngrafit\r\ngrafitto\r\ngridgio\r\ngrigio\r\ngrigio m\r\nchampagne\r\njeans\r\nmarrone\r\nmelange\r\nmocca\r\nmoro\r\nnatural\r\nnero\r\nnuage\r\nnudo\r\npanna\r\npink\r\npisello\r\npeltro\r\npetrolio 06\r\npopiel\r\nrosso\r\nrubino\r\nsalmon pink\r\nsigaro\r\nsierra\r\ntortora\r\ntemporale\r\ntramonto\r\nverde\r\nverde acido\r\nverde mela\r\nverdino\r\nvioletto\r\nvision\r\nvisone\r\nyellow"|selectoptions2="1\r\n2\r\n3\r\n4\r\n5\r\nUNI\r\nS\r\nM\r\nL\r\nS\/M\r\nL\/XL\r\n1\/2\r\n3\/4\r\n86\/92\r\n98\/104\r\n110\/116\r\n122\/128\r\n134\/146\r\n152\/164\r\n1\/2-S,M\r\n3\/4-M,L\r\nM\r\nL\r\nXL\r\nXXL\r\nXXXL\r\nXXXXL\r\nM(40-42)\r\nL(44-46)\r\nXL(48-50)\r\nXXL(52-54)\r\nXXXL(56-58)\r\nXXXXL(60-62)\r\n35-38(dle obuvi)\r\n39-42(dle obuvi)\r\n43-46(dle obuvi)"|selectoptions3=""|selectoptions4=""|

Please help how to make the solution work?
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: Mastersland on May 23, 2015, 19:37:52 pm
https://breakdesigns.net/stockable-customfields-manual this plugin doesn't works. When i choose my stockable shipment, the shipment doesn't ajax show
http://i.gyazo.com/c5a4c3705e8714575b7e4b0d1c8e3adb.png
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: balai on May 23, 2015, 20:46:24 pm
Did you read that
https://breakdesigns.net/stockable-customfields-manual/68-usefull-tips

If this does not help, use the offered support services
Title: Re: VM Stockable variants issue
Post by: tkejmullins on April 15, 2016, 14:22:03 pm
I noticed that if I change the template to the standard beez3 the multivariant works!!! Now I'll ask help where I get the template I'm using.

Were you able to get this figured out?  I have the same issue.