VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 => Virtuemart Development and bug reports => Topic started by: AbsoluteVM on June 10, 2013, 18:29:09 pm

Title: Product price being deleted?
Post by: AbsoluteVM on June 10, 2013, 18:29:09 pm
I have a strange issue on a live site. The prices are being removed completely somehow, and I dont personally administrate it myself to work out how.

In some circumstances a price is totally removed - has anyone solved what this could be or atleast experienced it themselves?

There are multiple people using the same login to administrate virtuemart, could this be an issue when both saving and updating a product?
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: r_ekkie on June 12, 2013, 09:24:53 am
I have something simular on a 2.0.21c test site haven't found out what is is. which version do you use?
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: Milbo on June 12, 2013, 13:42:35 pm
Please provide more information.

Are you talking about a parent product? child product?
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: AbsoluteVM on June 13, 2013, 11:10:42 am
Hello.

I'm talking about a Parent Product.  Further investigation reveals that there are no cron/backups within the server that interferes with the data.

VM2: 2.0.18a

I think something within the CMS is causing the price to be wiped, and I cannot replicate it myself.

Any advice to track this bug so I can help is appreciated.
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: AbsoluteVM on June 13, 2013, 11:11:42 am
PS, I have no rules set, i'm using all default or unset groups etc.

I place the price in cost price and let the system output that price.
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: AbsoluteVM on June 13, 2013, 11:12:52 am
@Milbo I have a completely cloned private development site should you want to check anything out.
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: Peter Pillen on June 13, 2013, 11:48:34 am
I have the same issue ... see topic http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=114895.msg386982#msg386982 (http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=114895.msg386982#msg386982)

when deleting a product, the price of the previous or next product_id is removed

version Joomla 2.5.9
Virtuemart 2.0.20b

i use these extensions
- sourcerer for php coding
- jotcache
- easyfrontend seo
- cdn for joomla
- custom dropbox

and some tweaks in these files that could be related to this problem, but i haven't found the link
/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/helpers/vmtable.php
/administrator/components/com_virtuemart/models/product.php
/components/com_virtuemart/router.php, but i don't think this has any influence
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: AbsoluteVM on June 13, 2013, 12:11:49 pm
VM2: 2.0.18a

I don't get the above issue. Deleting a product does not remove the price of the adjacent prouduct_id.
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: Milbo on June 14, 2013, 13:47:33 pm
AbsoluteVM, did you read the update notes of vm2.0.20b?

It is imho fixed there. The problem of Peter seems to be different. There is no problem to update 2.0.18 to the latest. You should directly take 2.0.21D
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: Hawaii on August 08, 2013, 15:12:52 pm
I have 2.0.20b version.
My client complains random price disappears on some products, but I can't reproduce the issue.
Is this bug resolved? Where can I see the changelog where the bug is addressed?

Thanks.
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: AbsoluteVM on September 24, 2013, 18:38:05 pm
Hello Milbo, has there been any reports of this bug other than when a product is deleted?

Could there be any other logical way, old browser, multiple users, that this bug is being created?
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: SparksArts on September 24, 2013, 18:57:23 pm
This is not fixed on VM 2.0.20b. My client has this version installed and prices are still deleted from products. The products are not being deleted. They remain in the database with nothing done to them in the admin. Everything is fine, the all of a sudden prices are missing from products that have not been edited. That field is just blank all of a sudden. It's not on all products, just a few. But they are different products every time. Very frustrating! They only way we know is a product disappears from the website frontend.

Richard
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: Milbo on September 24, 2013, 20:56:27 pm
We are on 2.0.22E. But it should also correctly work for 2.0.20b. You said it happens only with some and not all products. Maybe this are "old" products, created with an older version? that could be a hint, to write a db updater checking for this.

Atm I have no clue.
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: AbsoluteVM on September 24, 2013, 22:59:03 pm
Okay, so products created under old versions would retain the bug and products created after the bug would be fine.

So have you replicated the bug, is it just deleting Product Y and Product X's price deletes?
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: AbsoluteVM on September 24, 2013, 23:32:26 pm
Is there any way to fix the tables of all products?
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: SparksArts on September 25, 2013, 01:13:36 am
Is it just deleting Product Y and Product X's price deletes?

No. Several products price vanishes even when no other product is deleted. It seems to have no pattern that we've been able to discern.
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: AbsoluteVM on September 25, 2013, 11:56:41 am
Milbo makes a good point though, old products using the old database links?
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: SparksArts on September 25, 2013, 18:27:22 pm
Milbo makes a good point though, old products using the old database links?

Yes. So how do I test that assumption, and fix it. I'm not skilled at MySQL enough to write a DB updater to check this.
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: AbsoluteVM on September 25, 2013, 20:26:26 pm
If I fix it - I'll post it here.
Title: Re: Product price being deleted?
Post by: AbsoluteVM on September 26, 2013, 15:38:56 pm
I upgraded the core so version 'e', and don't experience the bug - even with older products.