VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 + 4 => Product creation => Topic started by: amanda mc donald on April 02, 2012, 21:47:46 PM

Title: No custum fields displaying
Post by: amanda mc donald on April 02, 2012, 21:47:46 PM
Hi

I'm using Joomla 2.5 and VM 2.0.2

To display custom fields in the Products Details Page I have the following code :

<?php if (!empty($this->product->customfields)) { ?>
         <div class="product-fields">
      <?php
      $custom_title = null ;
      foreach ($this->product->customfields as $field){
         ?><div style="display:inline-block;" class="product-field product-field-type-<?php echo $field->field_type ?>">
         <?php if ($field->custom_title != $custom_title) { ?>
            <span class="product-fields-title" ><b><?php echo JText::_($field->custom_title); ?></b></span>
         <br>
         <span class="product-field-display"><?php echo $field->display ?></span>
         <span class="product-field-desc"><?php echo jText::_($field->custom_field_desc) ?></span>
         </div>
         <?php
         $custom_title = $field->custom_title;
      } ?>
      </div>
      <?php

It is not working - can anybody please tell me what is wrong (it worked perfectly well with Joomla 1.7 and VM 2.0)?

Thank you
Title: Re: No custum fields displaying
Post by: amanda mc donald on April 03, 2012, 13:19:25 PM
Problem SOLVED!

For those struggling with the same issue ... this is what I've done.

1.  Created a custom field (or more) in virtuemart back-end, and gave it a Layout Position of on top
2.  Then I added the following code to the php file ... joomla/templates/...your template.../html/com_virtuemart/productdetails/default.php

Quote<div class="productDetails">
      <?php    if (!empty($this->product->customfieldsSorted['ontop'])) {
      $this->position='ontop';
      $custom_title = null ;
      foreach ($this->product->customfieldsSorted['ontop'] as $field){
         ?><div style="display:inline-block;" class="product-field product-field-type-<?php echo $field->field_type ?>">
         <?php if ($field->custom_title != $custom_title) { ?>
            <span class="product-fields-title" ><b><?php echo JText::_($field->custom_title); ?></b></span>
         <!-- <?php echo JHTML::tooltip($field->custom_tip,  JText::_($field->custom_title), 'tooltip.png');
         } ?> -->
         <br>
         <span class="product-field-display"><?php echo $field->display ?></span>
         <span class="product-field-desc"><?php echo jText::_($field->custom_field_desc) ?></span>
         </div>
         <?php
         $custom_title = $field->custom_title;
      } ?>
         </div>

3.  It will give you a layout on the frond end that looks like this:
      Heading:
      Description

4.  If you would like a custom tip to display just remove from the code (line 9 and 10) <!--       -->