VirtueMart Forum

VirtueMart 2 + 3 => General Questions => Topic started by: aandcmedia on March 28, 2012, 16:16:14 pm

Title: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: aandcmedia on March 28, 2012, 16:16:14 pm
I have a bunch of employees that I want to have access to virtuemart, and virtuemart only when they log into the administration part of the site. Is it possible? I've checked user permissions but there does not seem to be a way to make it so a user only has access to certain components.
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: DiveO2 on April 13, 2012, 00:29:27 am
Has anyone got an answer for this please?

My site is Joomla 2.5.4 vm2.0.4
I need to give a user permissions to virtuemart but I don't want to give them site administration status.
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: John2400 on April 13, 2012, 00:42:51 am
Hi ,

There are some restrictions - but you need then to at least upoad and control most things in VM them make a new group called employees  and tick
, administrator,  registered or a combination - at least they can't change the server settings etc
You will have to tick the multi vendor box in VM as well. 

Try first with out the multivendor box ticked and see what happens - test also to see if they receive and email iff they lose their passwords - just incase.
and add a new super user - for yourself - always good to have a second one.

then add them to that group - * it won't restict them from everything.

see how you go.
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: mtmeyrick on April 13, 2012, 03:00:35 am
@john: what I recon diveo2 means is that he doesn't want to set his users to administrator in the backend just to reach virtuemart, as I have the same issue.

I would like to use the joomla built in acl to assign permission to the joomla group I have setup to be able to reach the vm component.

Do you or anyone else know if J! Acl is built into vm or not?

Many thanks

M
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: John2400 on April 13, 2012, 04:51:22 am
mtmeyrick,

Hi yes I am aware of this issue - You like others wish to seperate Joomla from Virtuemart - "users"

That option is not really available at this present time.
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: JurgenG on May 29, 2012, 14:29:09 pm
mtmeyrick:

As many others I too had this issue. The user is olnly allowed to edit the store and see practically nothing of Joomla itself. My sollution:
- Add a new usergroup in joolma under Super User
- Global-settings => permissions and allow all except Super Admin and Access Administration Interface.
- Create a user in the new group.
- In Virtuemart go to Orders & Shoppers => Shoppers and set the user to admin.
- Let the user login through //.... administrator/index.php?option=com_virtuemart (or create a redirect to this url)

Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: beachy on June 18, 2012, 00:01:23 am
I have done this slightly differently to JurgenG by setting up a new user group called VM and assigning it to the special user access level. I then turned off the components, extensions, articles, categories etc.. so that the main menu is then also most emtpy.

I then made a small modification to the quickicons module to show the VM2 links that I wanted users to have access to (Manage products, orders & users) although this can be altered depending upon your needs!

The result is that when our staff sign in they can only get to VM but when I log in I get all menus and full access!

See the screenshots (I have changed the normal icons to something which ties in better with Joomla 2.5 but you can use which ever ones you like!)

[attachment cleanup by admin]
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: razor7 on October 25, 2012, 02:24:50 am
mtmeyrick:

As many others I too had this issue. The user is olnly allowed to edit the store and see practically nothing of Joomla itself. My sollution:
- Add a new usergroup in joolma under Super User
- Global-settings => permissions and allow all except Super Admin and Access Administration Interface.
- Create a user in the new group.
- In Virtuemart go to Orders & Shoppers => Shoppers and set the user to admin.
- Let the user login through //.... administrator/index.php?option=com_virtuemart (or create a redirect to this url)

Hi, done theese steps, but when editing a product, no actions bar at top of screen (save, save & close, etc...), any hint?

Thanks!
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: brentonking on November 08, 2012, 04:31:19 am
Any luck with the action bars? I am at the same point, experiencing the same problems.

EDIT - SOLVED
Duplicate the "Toolbar" Module in Module Manager > Administrator
Rename if you like, Publish it and change Access from "special" to your "new group" (in my case Virtuemart Only)
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: razor7 on November 08, 2012, 14:35:20 pm
Great! it worked!
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: 7hill on November 10, 2012, 17:08:03 pm
Thanks, it works for me!
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: ozzem on December 09, 2012, 15:30:10 pm
mtmeyrick:

As many others I too had this issue. The user is olnly allowed to edit the store and see practically nothing of Joomla itself. My sollution:
- Add a new usergroup in joolma under Super User
- Global-settings => permissions and allow all except Super Admin and Access Administration Interface.
- Create a user in the new group.
- In Virtuemart go to Orders & Shoppers => Shoppers and set the user to admin.
- Let the user login through //.... administrator/index.php?option=com_virtuemart (or create a redirect to this url)

hi, i can't set shopper user to admin...there is not a way to do this. which is the procedure?
thank you!
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: daniel__ on January 18, 2013, 18:45:07 pm
mtmeyrick:

As many others I too had this issue. The user is olnly allowed to edit the store and see practically nothing of Joomla itself. My sollution:
- Add a new usergroup in joolma under Super User
- Global-settings => permissions and allow all except Super Admin and Access Administration Interface.
- Create a user in the new group.
- In Virtuemart go to Orders & Shoppers => Shoppers and set the user to admin.
- Let the user login through //.... administrator/index.php?option=com_virtuemart (or create a redirect to this url)

I will get this error when i do the login:

'Access restricted to Vendors and Administrator only'

Any ideia?

hi, i can't set shopper user to admin...there is not a way to do this. which is the procedure?
thank you!
This basically.
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: asif2005 on February 21, 2013, 19:52:53 pm
mtmeyrick:

As many others I too had this issue. The user is olnly allowed to edit the store and see practically nothing of Joomla itself. My sollution:
- Add a new usergroup in joolma under Super User
- Global-settings => permissions and allow all except Super Admin and Access Administration Interface.
- Create a user in the new group.
- In Virtuemart go to Orders & Shoppers => Shoppers and set the user to admin.
- Let the user login through //.... administrator/index.php?option=com_virtuemart (or create a redirect to this url)

hi, i can't set shopper user to admin...there is not a way to do this. which is the procedure?
thank you!

I too like many others, wanted to give my vendor an ability to either add products from the front end or login to back-end with nothing but VM. I didn't get any viable solution to work. I ran across this thread and it looked promissing but when I went through the steps to get it to work, I found that the latest version of VM (2.18a) does not have an option to turn a "shopper" group to "admin" group. Maybe it did when this suggestion was posted by JurgenG. Since my vendor was a "Shopper", he couldn't login to VM-Admin and got the same error as someone posted above.  I was almost about to dump VM when I spent hours and couldn't figure out how to do this. I didn't want my VM vendor to give full backend access. That was just out of question.

What I ended up doing that worked (whew) was I modified "vmusers" table in MySQL and gave him "admin" perms and now my vendor has VM Admin access but nothing else. YAY!!

Can someone please tell me if this is BAD BAD BAD and may have an adverse affect on something else or may break something or might make my site vulnerable? Thank you so much!!!


Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: jenkinhill on February 21, 2013, 23:10:24 pm
No it is a simple solution. On the sites I have done the vendors have full Joomla admin rights as they usually add J articles to increase the site content, add news about new products etc.
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: asif2005 on February 21, 2013, 23:15:48 pm
No it is a simple solution. On the sites I have done the vendors have full Joomla admin rights as they usually add J articles to increase the site content, add news about new products etc.

Thanks Kelvyn. Appreciate the quick reply. This is a non-techi user and just wants to be able to add manage products on his online furniture site.

Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: bahalul7 on May 29, 2013, 23:55:34 pm
mtmeyrick:

As many others I too had this issue. The user is olnly allowed to edit the store and see practically nothing of Joomla itself. My sollution:
- Add a new usergroup in joolma under Super User
- Global-settings => permissions and allow all except Super Admin and Access Administration Interface.
- Create a user in the new group.
- In Virtuemart go to Orders & Shoppers => Shoppers and set the user to admin.
- Let the user login through //.... administrator/index.php?option=com_virtuemart (or create a redirect to this url)

hi, i can't set shopper user to admin...there is not a way to do this. which is the procedure?
thank you!

I too like many others, wanted to give my vendor an ability to either add products from the front end or login to back-end with nothing but VM. I didn't get any viable solution to work. I ran across this thread and it looked promissing but when I went through the steps to get it to work, I found that the latest version of VM (2.18a) does not have an option to turn a "shopper" group to "admin" group. Maybe it did when this suggestion was posted by JurgenG. Since my vendor was a "Shopper", he couldn't login to VM-Admin and got the same error as someone posted above.  I was almost about to dump VM when I spent hours and couldn't figure out how to do this. I didn't want my VM vendor to give full backend access. That was just out of question.

What I ended up doing that worked (whew) was I modified "vmusers" table in MySQL and gave him "admin" perms and now my vendor has VM Admin access but nothing else. YAY!!

Can someone please tell me if this is BAD BAD BAD and may have an adverse affect on something else or may break something or might make my site vulnerable? Thank you so much!!!



For Latest version 2.0.20b has not any option for changing admin perms. We just can set shoppers as vendor or not vendor. Am I correct?
Asif, have you given admin power from Joomla ACL (Go to Joomla menu -->>Users-->>User Manger , Then give that user to right user group { if you haven't change any permission then give Administrator as User Groups) ?
I got same problem like you and use this solution. Let us know your result.

With Regards
Joomla version 2.5
Installed version 2.0.20b
Latest version 2.0.20b
Latest release date 2013-03-14

Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: Christopher on August 15, 2013, 12:48:04 pm
Hello

I might have missed it somewhere, but is there a way to set up a user who is configured as an Administrator in Joomla, so they are able to view orders in Virtuemart? I cannot set these users as "Super User", because doing this gives them too many (dangerous!) access privilages in the rest of the J! admin suite.

I'm running:

J 2.5.11
VM 2.0.20b

Many thanks
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: jenkinhill on August 15, 2013, 13:00:01 pm
Something like this: http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=116931.msg394641#msg394641  - they will need superadmin power in VM to view the orders, especially if they are not set as vendor.
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: Christopher on August 15, 2013, 13:14:40 pm
Thanks Kelvyn, but I cannot give them Super Admin access - they're prone to wandering around pressing random buttons and then claiming it was "Mr Nobody", leaving me mopping up the mess on a regular basis - they have therefore been set as Administrator level in Joomla, but this means they cannot view the orders received in VM - Is there a simple way around this?

Thanks in advance
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: jenkinhill on August 15, 2013, 15:17:45 pm
NO, you can set them as a special access group, with superadmin powsers in VM and lesser/restricted elsewhere.  http://docs.joomla.org/J2.5:Access_Control_List_Tutorial
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: Christopher on August 15, 2013, 16:14:00 pm
Thanks - I'll take a look through that.
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: cascompany on September 12, 2013, 01:04:55 am
Hello, I have looked at all this... tried everything I could.... and I get a few problems.
1) If I not give super user access, it will not be able to see ORDERS or CUSTOMERS, (even if I give vendor, set mutlivendor, etc)
2) If I give it super user access... even when I can restrict Joomla wich is okey... they can see ALL VIRTUEMART, and even when I set permissions on the group of that user, it sees everything.

What Im missing?

I have a special group "webmaster" created under super user group.
The I added a user to the group  (with or without super user access... different results)
I have bloqued access to parts of joomla I dont want them to touch for that group, that is okey ...

But in VirtueMart...
A) When the "webmaster" user, is set to super admin, it see everything.
B) When the "webmaster" user, not have super admin.... it shows what I give permissions to see (from VirtueMart permissions), for example, I dont want they to update, or use migration tools, or change payment methods, etc)... and everything works okey EXEPT that it dont see the ORDERS & SHOPPERS menu, it shows the menu title, but no links.

Im using the last version 2.0.22c and 2.5.14 J
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: vhm on October 10, 2013, 17:30:26 pm
mtmeyrick:

As many others I too had this issue. The user is olnly allowed to edit the store and see practically nothing of Joomla itself. My sollution:
- Add a new usergroup in joolma under Super User
- Global-settings => permissions and allow all except Super Admin and Access Administration Interface.
- Create a user in the new group.
- In Virtuemart go to Orders & Shoppers => Shoppers and set the user to admin.
- Let the user login through //.... administrator/index.php?option=com_virtuemart (or create a redirect to this url)

I too like many others, wanted to give my vendor an ability to either add products from the front end or login to back-end with nothing but VM. I didn't get any viable solution to work. I ran across this thread and it looked promissing but when I went through the steps to get it to work, I found that the latest version of VM (2.18a) does not have an option to turn a "shopper" group to "admin" group. Maybe it did when this suggestion was posted by JurgenG. Since my vendor was a "Shopper", he couldn't login to VM-Admin and got the same error as someone posted above.  I was almost about to dump VM when I spent hours and couldn't figure out how to do this. I didn't want my VM vendor to give full backend access. That was just out of question.

What I ended up doing that worked (whew) was I modified "vmusers" table in MySQL and gave him "admin" perms and now my vendor has VM Admin access but nothing else. YAY!!

Can someone please tell me if this is BAD BAD BAD and may have an adverse affect on something else or may break something or might make my site vulnerable? Thank you so much!!!




Hi all,

I have implemented mtmeyrick and asif2005 solution and everything worked fine until this last update to version VM 2.0.24.

The users under the VM group no longer have access to VM buttons. The VM interface is just clean, without any buttons. I had to give back Super Admin rights to the VM Group to solve this.

I have looked at vmusers table, column permissions, and everything remains the same. Does anyone knows if VM is doing anything different to get the user level of permission?

Thanks!
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: jenkinhill on October 10, 2013, 18:23:14 pm
VM2.0.24 has Joomla's ACL implemented so the solutions are now different. The only issue is permissions for orders, as only a superadmin can view all vendor's orders.
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: vhm on October 11, 2013, 01:10:01 am
Hi jenkinhill,

Thank you for your answer. I didn't know... great improvement!

I've checked it out and saw that in the orders & clients tab, it not has a row to set orders permissions. It's this issue you are referring to?

I am using a translated version for Jooma&VM and it seems that cascompany VM has the same behavior.

Thank you for your time!
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: vhm on October 23, 2013, 14:09:39 pm
I have finally found what was missing from my setup to get to point where everybody is...

I don't know why my previous searches didn't find this... I'll share what I've found.

If anyone has rows/components missing in the orders & clients tab of VMs Permissions, check the following post: http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=119203.0
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: jenkinhill on October 23, 2013, 20:00:01 pm
This should be fixed in VM2.0.24a to be released very soon.
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: Doggiefield on November 02, 2013, 13:54:39 pm
I might have missed it somewhere, but is there a way to set up a user who is configured as an Administrator in Joomla, so they are able to view orders in Virtuemart? I cannot set these users as "Super User", because doing this gives them too many (dangerous!) access privilages in the rest of the J! admin suite.

Hi Christopher,
Several of our clients have the same problem. They want for their employees to only see the orders and have the possibility to create new orders.
To solve this we use a Joomla component with frontend access.

It is a Point Of Sale system that syncs customers/products/orders etc. The employees have their own login credentials and have the possibility to look at the orders and create new ones.
www.posforwebshops.com

I hope this helps.
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: strauss on January 07, 2015, 15:22:46 pm
I have done this slightly differently to JurgenG by setting up a new user group called VM and assigning it to the special user access level. I then turned off the components, extensions, articles, categories etc.. so that the main menu is then also most emtpy.

I then made a small modification to the quickicons module to show the VM2 links that I wanted users to have access to (Manage products, orders & users) although this can be altered depending upon your needs!

The result is that when our staff sign in they can only get to VM but when I log in I get all menus and full access!

See the screenshots (I have changed the normal icons to something which ties in better with Joomla 2.5 but you can use which ever ones you like!)

How can i do this in VM 3.0.2 + Joomla 3.3.6 ? i dont find the menu to turned off the components, extensions, articles, categories. and there are no quick icon in J3.3.6 :(
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: jenkinhill on January 07, 2015, 23:45:39 pm
In J3/VM3 it is all set up in Joomla's ACL manager - open Global Configuration and select the Permissions tab.  https://docs.joomla.org/J3.x:Access_Control_List_Tutorial

eg the image below is the permissions I have set for a manager where the only VM options they can access & edit are orders.

[attachment cleanup by admin]
Title: Re: Backend to Virtuemart Only
Post by: yayo76 on July 04, 2015, 14:10:33 pm
Hi,
in my site I've an super user account. I'd like to manage the virtuemart products via front end, but when I click on edit icon and I try to modify any product data, showed the same message "The requested content cannot be loaded", how I can to solved this problem? I've joomla 3.4.3 and Vm3 3.0.9.4.
How I must to set the Virtuemart and Jooma ACL to do it?
Thank you
Regards