Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Login with username, password and session length


It's a release candidate! VirtueMart 2.0 RC - the next generation VirtueMart - is available! Read more....

  Advanced search

247031 Posts in 67504 Topics- by 258313 Members - Latest Member: Matej.iStraxx
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Artio JoomSEF and VM plugin WORKS!  (Read 19870 times)
korb
Quality&Testing Team
Hero Member
*
Posts: 691



WWW
« on: May 12, 2008, 16:29:19 pm »

Hi,
I just installed a fresh Joomla 1.53 eCommerce Edition on a hosting company.
How to?

First note:
You must have Joomla 1.53 eCommerce Edition or the Joomla 1.5.3 and VirtueMart 1.1 separatelly.

step 1 - Download what you need:
-Artio JoomSEF 3.02
http://www.artio.net/en/downloads/joomla-extensions/artio-joomsef-3-0-0/download
-VirtueMart 1.1 plugin for Artio JoomSEF
http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=39744.0;attach=6668

step 2 - install artio JoomSEF and carefull with that...
!!!!! Artio JoomSEF automaticaly generates .htaccess file so you must delete htaccess.txt file.

Step 3 - Joomla Configuration - some things you must do
 Search Engine Friendly URLs - YES
 Use Apache mod_rewrite - YES
 Add suffix to URLs - NO

Step 4 - Install the Artio JoomSEF for VirtueMart 1.1 in the Artio JoomSEF control Panel.

Step 5 - Configure Artio JoomSEF
-remove itemID's, show full titles and so on

I am still testing and waiting for other user opinions and feedback on this configuration!
A localhost instalation with the configuration described here does not work! You must use a webhosting service, and not just everything, learn about Joomla installation requirements.

So far I have found that when I click the empty cart, it opens a new tab/window with www.virtuemart.net so I don't like that. Checkout, product browsing and searching and Xmap work OK.

Hope this was helpfull
Logged

korb
Quality&Testing Team
Hero Member
*
Posts: 691



WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2008, 16:32:44 pm »

now testing with another language than english
Logged

robbluther
Newbie
*
Posts: 26


WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2008, 16:51:16 pm »

When you complete an order, can you specify a landing page other than index.php?  Currently after the order is submitted, I land there and it is not too good for conversion tracking.
Logged
korb
Quality&Testing Team
Hero Member
*
Posts: 691



WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2008, 16:56:56 pm »

on a complete order, you land on the thank you page...an email has been sent to your adress...link to order details...etcetera
Logged

robbluther
Newbie
*
Posts: 26


WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2008, 17:00:21 pm »

So the URL says...  thank-you.html or something other than index.php?
Logged
korb
Quality&Testing Team
Hero Member
*
Posts: 691



WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2008, 17:02:55 pm »

Xmap is not generating a link list for categories or products for virtuemart.

I have found that submision of an article generated link is bad:
joomla/joomla-license.html

When clicking the show all products link, it redirects me to the homepage
Logged

korb
Quality&Testing Team
Hero Member
*
Posts: 691



WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2008, 17:05:39 pm »

So the URL says...  thank-you.html or something other than index.php?

NO, the pages from check-out are counted 1,2...
But there are more links generated by artio just numbers folowed by /.
Those links must be manualy written I guess
Logged

korb
Quality&Testing Team
Hero Member
*
Posts: 691



WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2008, 17:15:26 pm »

When accesing/viewing the cart, shows the link like this:
www.noname.com/joomla/power-tools/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&page=shop.cart&product_id=10

At the check-out process, Step 1 (Shipping adress) has a number and the next steps have all links that are rewritten as joomla/index.php but the check-out works

Wait for other user replies
« Last Edit: May 12, 2008, 17:31:06 pm by korb » Logged

Margaret
Newbie
*
Posts: 26


« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2011, 17:28:35 pm »

i have install this but when i enable Artio JoomSEF categories dont work (in every category i press i go back to the index page)
What is the problem?
Logged
Dog_Guy
Newbie
*
Posts: 40


WWW
« Reply #9 on: June 03, 2011, 06:26:31 am »

I see that these conversations are a few years old, and that the current default VM does not convert dyanmic page numbers to seo friendly text.

does anyone know if the module discussed here is a plug and play option now? and if not, what is the downside of not having seo just for VM? It would be nice to have, but if the rest of the site has seo URLs then is this such an issue?

Thsnks
Logged

Margaret
Newbie
*
Posts: 26


« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2011, 17:37:22 pm »

in me it does making new links but all returns error 404, very strange
some settings:
Global SEF URLs    Enabled
Apache mod_rewrite    Enabled
JoomSEF    Enabled
JoomSEF plugin    Enabled
Creation of new URLs Enabled
RewriteBase Enabled with value:"/"

i have delete the .htaccess file and i see that my website is still accessible so this might be the problem
i use lighttpd server, does JoomSEF support it? i
« Last Edit: June 09, 2011, 17:03:18 pm by Margaret » Logged
dddmx3
Newbie
*
Posts: 11


http://RumorCo.com


« Reply #11 on: June 16, 2011, 21:29:25 pm »

When will this plugin be available for j1.5? or even 1.6?
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
Jump to: